Public Relations


To promote awareness of the Maryland Quality Initiative (MdQI) to the Highway Community and general public.

Objective: To publicize and market the efforts of MdQI, the MdQI Steering Committee and the MdQI Sub-Committees on an ongoing basis.

Strategy #1: To work with the State Highway Administration’s Office of Communications to develop and continue an effective marketing plan.

Action Plan:

  • Identify all appropriate media contacts and issue news releases as necessary concerning the MdQI Conference, MdQI Awards of Excellence, MdQI Career Day events, and other highway industry events.

  • Work with MdQI sponsors to coordinate industry news events on a quarterly basis or as needed for special events or subcommittee reports.

  • Develop and maintain an accurate mailing list and e-mail list for distributing newsletters, conference registration materials and publicity materials related to MdQI.

Strategy #2: Update and improve the MdQI website (; publish and distribute the semiannual MdQI Newsletter; publish and distribute the annual Conference Summary.

Action Plan:

  • Establish an independent web site address and update the MdQI web site following monthly meetings of the Steering Committee.

  • Re-design the website to improve users’ site navigation and provide more links to MdQI sponsors, committee members and useful industry sites.

  • Publish two issues of Partners in Quality Newsletter each year. Hard copy to be mailed to mailing list and posted on website.

  • Publish and distribute MdQI Conference proceedings to all conference attendees within four months. Conference moderators/presenters will submit materials to be posted on the website.

Strategy #3: To maintain records and the history of MdQI for future use by the Steering Committee, Public Relations Subcommittee and Conference Subcommittee.

Action Plan:

  • Maintain an archive library of materials, handouts, award winners, PowerPoint presentations and photos from MdQI events for easy retrieval and future documentation.

Subcommittee Members


Joel Oppenheimer, STV

Fran Ward, MDOT SHA, District 4

Shannon Coyne, MDOT SHA


Elisabeth McCollum, JMT

Teri Moss, MDOT SHA

Angela Perry, Hardesty & Hanover

Joy Hamilton, Assedo Consulting